Never Stop Learning and Improving

Ever aspire to have your own work printed? Published? Read and enjoyed? When hoping to have your work accepted and published, it’s important to have the proper steps executed in your writing. One of the best resources to utilize is that of the Associated Press Style resources. The Associated Press Stylebook is a resource that I have newly discovered in my Writing for Public Relations course and it seems to me that it will really come in hand.

The key is, to have your piece ready to be published as is. When submitting your piece, an editor has to review your work to make any adjustments before publishing. With using the AP Stylebook, you can review and check your work for any mistakes. Shoot, for things you might have thought you did right and end up finding out it was wrong! haha! Reviewing this book for things you’re not sure of will improve your work and credibility, not to mention you’ll impress the one approving it.

The tricker part for me is actually most of the things. I took a quiz on NewsU and found out I have some techniques to work on! Primarily though, I have a tough time with names and titles: formal titles, referencing names in a work. All kinds of things. So as I review the Stylebook and quizzes, I hope to improve my own writing. So as I get there and improve, stay with me! I’m going to get better!!

Stay tuned, and what do you think? What are the things that trip you up when writing?

4 thoughts on “Never Stop Learning and Improving

  1. What a great website you’ve found! I will be sure to use the APA Style Handbook before publishing my work, including WordPress and Scholastic papers. I think it is great that you are wanting to continually correct and improve your work. I struggle with those pesky commas. I thought I mastered them until

  2. What a great website you’ve found! I will be sure to the APA Style Handbook before publishing my work, including WordPress and scholastic papers. I think its great that you are wanting to continually correct and improve your work. I struggle with those pesky commas. I thought I mastered them until a professor last semester told me otherwise.

  3. Yes, thank you! I thought I was good, only to find out that I still have so much to learn. Good to know that there’s someone in this boat rowing with us; that we’re not alone on improving. haha 🙂 Thanks for your thoughts!

  4. Blog Comments take 2 « The Vintage Press

Leave a Reply

