Work What You Have: Finding New Perspective on the Usual

    Now, I might not be a great photographer, but I feel anyone can be good, creative, and have fun with it. I’m also a proud owner of three cameras……ha! I love them. But no matter what quality you have, there is always something to capture. Beautiful things. Breathtaking things. Funny things. Remarkable things. Don’t feel intimidated. There are things to capture everywhere, even when you think the “scenery” is old news. Here are some tips to find new perspective when capturing moments:

  1. Get down and dirty- Ok, all I’m saying is, lay down on your stomach and you have a whole new look on something relatively simple and usual. This can take your pictures from ordinary to WOAH.
  2. Ok, now get high- Since you’ve taken the ground approach, shoot some pictures from height! climb some stairs, shoot straight down, and look what you can find.
  3. Literally change angles- Instead of straight-on angles, try stepping to the left or right a few feet, shoot, sometimes a few inches does a world of difference. Try it out 🙂
  4. Teeny tiny details? Find them- Move closer, and capture intricate details of something. Ever see a picture of an object and you don’t really know what it is? It creates intrigue trying to figure it out.
  5. Try out a new Frame- try looking for ways to surround your subject with another element in the scene. Framing up your subject is a great technique to add depth and visual impact to your photography.


Go ahead and give it w whirl! What’s the worst that can happen? Find out that you’re a little better than you thought?? 😉 Get going.

What are other tips for people wanting to find new perspective? What about just good tips in general? Share! 🙂

"Crabby" by Jillian Reid


"Reflection" by Jillian Reid

"Free" by Jillian Reid

"Sea oats" by Jillian Reid

11 thoughts on “Work What You Have: Finding New Perspective on the Usual

  1. Great ideas for unique photography, Jillian! I have always looked at composition as a more logical process than creative. For example, I would take a picture of a flower from the top because that’s how people see it.

    But why would someone want to see a picture of something they could just experience in real life? So putting the camera on the ground and photographing up at the flower creates an image that not many people get to see (or would want to crawl around to find). It makes sense that breathtaking photos are ones that depict things you don’t see every day.

    I’m still trying to shut off my rational mind and let my creative half have fun and go crazy with photography, but I’ll definitely hold onto your tips and work on making my photos distinctive and artistic. Thanks for sharing!

    • Thanks so much for your feedback! I think that photography is both logical and creative; you don’t want to the logical and then after the shot realize something weird was in the way, but you want something to look at that’s compelling instead of always straight on.

      It seems to me that you even being open to changing the “logical” mode to more of a creative mode brings you to a better place with photography. Shoot, I’d love to see some pictures that you’ve taken or some of what you will take with implementing some of the tips, seriously. Snap away and keep trying new things! 🙂

  2. Peer Blog Comments COMM4333 | Jumping In

  3. I loved the post and I loved that you wrote about something you’re passionate about! Your tips are really helpful. I really enjoy photography too, and I agree that perspective is what adds that extra element to your work! And I don’t know what you’re talking about … from what I can see, you’re an excellent photographer. Thanks for sharing your tips, as well as your own photography!

  4. Thank you so much! I really am passionate about photography. I was always that kid that took disposable cameras on field trips in elementary school; I guess the interest never left! I’ve actually seen some of your photography and I like things through your perspective. And your kind words, thank you, I really appreciate it! I want to keep improving, there’s always something to learn. Thanks again!

  5. I have taken several courses of photography and am the proud owner of a digital slr myself, but as you pointed out, you do not need to drop loads of money on a camera or corresponding lenses to get a few nice shots. Your advice, such as shooting a portrait from a ladder and not not shooting a subject from a straight angle, is simple, yet not obvious for most beginner photographers. This concise piece is a perfect summary of a first photography lesson for someone looking to go out and capture some good, higher-grade shots.

    • Thank you so much for your feedback! I definitely enjoy taking pictures and from your comment looks like you are too. Hey what do you like taking pictures of the most and do you have any advice on aspiring photographers?

  6. Blog Comments 2 « Erica Earl Journalism

  7. Guest Blogger: Jillian Reid | Jumping In

Leave a Reply

